Student Accomplishments

Captain Dermot Gavin, MAT Social Studies Graduate, was highlighted in the Times Union for his role in the war in Afghanistan, January 2013.

Celia Ganey, Professional School Counseling Graduate, was highlighted in the Daily Gazette for her role in organizing the Parent Financial Aid Night at Schenectady High School, January 2013.

Shannon Egna, Childhood and Literacy Education student, won 1st place in the 2012 Service Learning Essay Contest, July 2012.

Erin Davies, MAT Art student, won 2nd place in the 2012 Service Learning Essay Contest, July 2012.

Barbara Malkas, Educational Leadership cohort III member, named Superintendent of the Webster Public Schools in Central Massachusetts, July 2012.

Jacqueline Looser, Professional School Counseling student, was awarded the 2012 NYSSCA Graduate Student Scholarship, May 2012.

Dr. Peter DeWitt, Educational Leadership cohort II member, released his book, Dignity for All: Safeguarding LGBT Students, published by Corwin Press, March 2012.

Vincent Porfirio, Assistant Dean of Students and cohort IV member, added to Tulane University’s Spring Speaker Series. January 2012

Lori Caplan,Educational Leadership, cohort II member, named Superintendent of Schools for Watervliet CSD. Dec. 2011.

Elizabeth Wood, Educational Leadership, cohort IV member, named Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment for Shenendohowa CSD. November 2011.

Paul Padalilno, Educational Leadership, Cohort I member, executive coach and adjunct faculty, named Superintendent of Schools for Kingston CSD. Nov. 2011.

Peter DeWitt, Educational Leadership, Cohort II, has been hired as a blog author for Education Week; blog is called Finding Common Ground.

Steve Danna, Educational Leadership, Cohort III, was appointed by the WWSHE BOCES as the Senior Facilitator for RTTT on July 1, 2011.

Elizabeth Wood, elementary principal in the Shenendehowa Central School District and Educational Leadership doctoral candidate, receives $2500 Pathways to Leadership Scholarship for Minorities & Women from the New York State Council of School Superintendents (NYSCOSS) on March 1, 2011.


Fadhilika Atiba-Weza, Troy City Schools and Margaret Keller-Cogan, Clarkstown; co-chairs of the Leadership and the Superintendency for Minorities and Women committee; present awards to Elizabeth Wood, Principal of Shatekon Elementary from Shenendehowa and Patricia Grupka, Personnel Supervisor from Williamsville. L. Oliver Robinson, Shenendehowa and Past President of The Council congratulates both award winners at the closing session.

Colleen Caroll, Educational Leadership Cohort II member, named Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Personnel, Tarrytown Union Free School District, Sleepy Hollow, New York.