Leadership + Advisory Boards

Distinguished groups of educators, business and civic leaders serve on the Academy's Leadership and Advisory boards to help the Academy achieve its objectives. Anyone wishing to volunteer to be a member of either of these boards should contact The Academy.

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board is composed of school administrators, business leaders, government officials and community organization leaders. They meet three to four times a year, reviews reports about The Academy's programs, progress and plans. Members may also choose to play a more active role on one or more committees.

Current Advisory Board Members:

  • George Goodwin, Supt. of Schools, Lansingburgh CSD (retired), Chair
  • Jim McGlynn, Vice-President, Pioneer Bank
  • David Brown/Rayette Johnson, YMCA
  • Justin E. Buchanan, Vice President, First Niagara Bank
  • Charles Dedrick, Superintendent ,Capital Region BOCES
  • Matthew Duddy, Vice President, Lamar Advertising
  • Randy Hall, Commissioner of Social Services, Rensselaer Country
  • Thomas Hulihan, Director of Program and Planning Development, Troy Housing Authority
  • Kathleen Jimino, County Executive, Rensselaer County
  • Tony Leva, The Creative Advantage, inc.
  • Dr. Lynn Macan, Superintendent, Cobleskill-Richmondville CSD, Secretary
  • John McDonald III, Assemblyman, 108th District
  • Dr. Hanns Meissner, CEO, The ARC of Rensselaer County, Vice Chair
  • Kathy Pelham, Director, Northeast NY United Way,
  • Dr. Lori Quigley, Dean, Esteves School of Education,The Sage Colleges
  • Keith Stewart, State Farm Insurance
  • James Whalen, Attorney, Pioneer Bank
  • Dr. Marie Wiles, Superintendent, Guilderland CSD

Leadership Board

The Leadership Board provides guidance and support to The Academy for Character Education, and is comprised of teachers, school administrators, parents and community organization representatives. The board meets monthly during the Academic Year (late afternoon). Members voice their opinions/reactions to Academy programs and plans and may choose to actively serve on committees which play an integral role in The Academy's events and publications. This board holds an annual Retreat each July to hear reports about the past's years events and progress and plan future goals and events.

Current Leadership Board Members:

  • Dr. Ellen Adams, Sage Colleges, Chair
  • Kimberly Macica, Schaghticoke, Secretary
  • Kathy Barlow, Wildwood Programs
  • Nadine Cunningham, West Sand Lake E.S.
  • Joan Monk, Co-Secretary
  • Lynne Arnold
  • Dr. Steve Birchak, College of Saint Rose
  • Peg Brady, Ballston Spa CSD
  • Kevin Buess, Hudson Valley C.C
  • Linda Brennan-Pagano, Shenendehowa CSD
  • Susan Cowan, South Colonie CSD
  • Sharon Domine, Cooperstown
  • Maureen Flanigan, Averill Park CSD
  • Kathy Fuller, HERSTORY
  • Susan Grimmick, Brunswick CSD
  • Bernice Herbert, The Sage Colleges
  • Roseann Jackling
  • Josef Markowski, New York State
  • Thearse McCalmon
  • Raeanne Mokey, Cohoes CSD
  • Karen Urbanski, Rensselaer CSD
  • Mary VanVliet, Schodack CSD
  • Tina Smith, Troy
  • Dr. John Sacca, Sage Colleges
  • Nicholas DeCaprio, Sage Colleges
  • Mary Yodis, Wynantskill UFSD
  • Mel Horowitz, Menands
  • Ralph Singh, Wisdom Thinkers