The 2012-2013 Champions of Character

In 2013 News Channel 13 anchor, Dan Bazile was the Master of Ceremonies and the CEO of SEFCU, Michael J. Castellana served as Honorary Chair of events. The 10th Annual Champions of Character Awards Banquet was commenced with President Susan Scrimshaw's commemorative of Sage's Doctoral student and Principle of Sandy Hook, Dawn Hochsprung to remind us of the importance of character and a world full of wrong. Please see the program from this event: 2013 Champions of Character Banquet Program.

2013 Award Winners

Academy Volunteer Award

Joan Monk; Academy Leadership Board Co-Secretary

Business Leader Award

Barry Richman, Pearl Grant Richmans; Stuyvesant Plaza, Albany, NY

Business Organization Leadership Award

Prime Companies; Cohoes, NY

Civic Leader Award

Jean Brooks, Rensselaer County Department for Youth

Friend of the Academy Award

Richie Phillips, Townsquare Media

Student LeadershipAward

Brandon Payne; Paul V. Moore High School, Central Square SD

Student Group Leadership Award

West Sand Lake (Averill Park Central School District)

 Student Character Education Team:

  President: Marie Patanian

  Vice President: Robert Nero

  Secretary: Melanie Zusy

  Treasurer: Isabella Guyer

  Sergeant at Arms: Allison Lapinski

Community Organization Award

Roger Lane, Catskill CSD

Teacher/Educator Leadership Award

James Chaney; Eagle Point Elementary School, Albany CSD

Thomas Coons, Maple Avenue Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports; Saratoga Springs CSD

Teaching Team Leadership Award

 5th Grade Teaching Team at Tamarac Elementary; Brittonkill Central School District

Character Education Committee at Farnsworth Middle School; Guilderland Central School District

Educator Leadership Award

Isaiah Vail, School 18 Team; Troy City School District

Darlene Sampson; Lansingburgh High School

Athletic Leadership Award

Dr. Christopher Parks; McQuaid Jesuit, Catholic College Preparatory School; Greater Rochester Area

School Administrator LeadershipAward

Mark Perry, Principal at Harmony Hill School; Cohoes City School District

Christine Arlt, Bardonia Elementary School; Clarkstown Central School District

The Sage Colleges Champions of Character Awards

Administrator Mary Grace Luibrand

Faculty Tom Sweeney

 Staff Member Chynna Marcucci

Russel Sage Student Kendra Anderson

Sage College of Albany Ebony Dallas 

New York State Schools of Character

Cleveland Elementary; Central Square School District

Honorable Mention New York State Schools of Character

Harrison Avenue Elementary; South Glens Fall Central School District

Malta Avenue Elementary; Ballston Spa Central School District

Smith Street School; Uniondale Union Free School District

West Sand Lake Elementary; Averill Park Central School Distict

Northern Parkway Elementary; Uniondale Union Free School District

Grand Avenue Elementary; Uniondale Union Free School District

Turtle Hook Middle School; Uniondale Union Free School District

Emerging Schools of Character

Lawrence Road Middle School; Uniondale Union Free School District

Canandaigua Middle School; Canandaigua City School District

William H. Barton Intermediate School; Queensbury Union Free School District

Byron-Bergen Central School District

Number Four School,  Lawrence Union Fee School District

For a list of past awardees, click here.

The 9th Annual Champions of Character Awards Banquet was held at the Franklin Plaza, 4th and Grand Streets, in Troy, NY on Tuesday April 3, 2012. At this gala event Character Education Leadership throughout New York State was celebrated.

We are proud to announce the 2012 Educator, New York State Schools of Character and Business and Community and Sage Colleges honorees.

2012 Champions of Character 

The Sage Colleges Champions of Character
Administrators Robert Grebert and Lori Maki
Faculty Member Deborah Lawrence
Students Sharon Domine, Joshua Hewitt and Jane Spear
Staff Member Carolyn Van De Mark

Academy Volunteer Award
Bonnie Misch, Central Square CSD, retired; Academy Leadership Board Co-Secretary

Business Leader Award
E. Stewart Jones, Jr.,  Esquire, Attorney & Civic Benefactor

Business Organization Award
KeyBank, NA

Civic Leader Award
Tina Marie Smith, President, Griswold Heights Tenant Association

Civic Organization Award
Literacy Volunteers of Rensselaer County

Student Leadership Award
Sarah Risko, New Lebanon Jr-Sr. High School CSD

Student Organization Award
Mike Feurstein- Director, How to Unmake a Bully, Glendaal ES, Scotia Glenville CSD

Community Organization Award
Pride Center of the Capital Region- Nora Yates, Executive Director

Teacher/Educator Leadership Award
Jeanine Zaccara, One World Club, Edison School, Port Chester Public Schools

JoAnn Hyde, K-6 School Counselor, Wolcott St. School, LeRoy CSD

Patrick Morris, Greenwich Jr-Sr HS Counselor, Greenwich CSD

Sean Peterson, 11-12th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Wallkill Sr. HS, Wallkill CSD

Heather Larkin, Assistant Professor, University at Albany

University Organization Award
NYS American Association of University Women, Eileen Hartmann, President

Community Volunteer Award
Aaron Johnson, Cohoes Community Center at Van Schiack Grade School, Cohoes CSD

School Administrator Leadership Award
Joe Palmer, Principal, Harrison Ave ES, So. Glens Falls CSD          
Michael Effie, Principal, Cleveland ES, Central Square School District

New York State Schools of Character
Wolcott Street ES; LeRoy CSD
Allen Creek ES; Pittsford CSD
California Avenue ES; Uniondale UFSD

Honorable Mention New York State Schools of Character
Cleveland Elementary; Central Square  School District
Malta Avenue ES; Ballston Spa CSD

Emerging Schools of Character
Harrison Ave ES; S. Glens Falls CSD
Spring UFSD
Central Square, CSD
Smith Street ES; Uniondale UFSD
Grand Avenue ES; Uniondale UFSD
Lawrence Road M.S.;Uniondale UFSD
Turtle Hook M.S.; Uniondale UFSD
Dundee Elementary; Dundee UFSD
Northern Pkwy ES; Uniondale UFSD
Number 4 School ES;Lawrence UFSD