Sage’s “Champions of Character” To Be Honored April 6

March 25, 2011 at 3:15 pm


The Academy for Character Education at The Sage Colleges will hold its 8th Champions of Character Event on April 6 at the Franklin Plaza Ballroom in Troy starting with a gala reception at 5:30 pm followed by dinner and presentations at 6:30 pm.  This event honors Capital Region and Northeastern United States leadership and dedication to the vision and mission of fostering positive character development in our schools and communities.  Numerous awards will be presented including:

The Sage Colleges Champions of Character

Donna Hutchens who has been serving the students at Russell Sage College for more than 25 years. Currently, she is administrative assistant in the Office of Student Development.

Don Richards, one of the most personable and well-liked people on campus, is a member of Public Safety and an integral part of the Sage community

Martha Frank has been a member of the Sage community for more than twenty years. She developed, implemented and continues as a faculty member in the Occupational Therapy Program. 

Larissa Stuts is the recipient of the Character Education Student Leadership Award. Larissa is an engaged and active student on our SCA campus and in the community. Larissa is also an office assistant in the office of Student Life.

Carly Bennett, a student on the Russell Sage campus in Troy, created a club for children living in a Troy housing project called STAR: Students That Are Responsive, to enable those children to learn respect for themselves and others through activities such as planting flowers and writing about the effects of bullying.

Also to be honored:  

Educator Awards 

Teachers Elementary:  Barbara Place, Brittonkil; Jean Seaver, Averill Park; Ronnie Senez, Cohoes.  Middle School:  Maureen Pokal (school counselor), Guilderland; Nancy Bolettieri, Mineola; Melissa Moskov, South Colonie. High School:  Ward Dales, Albany
Teaching Team
- Morning Program Committee, Broadalbin-Perth ES      
  - Middle School:  Steven Gilhuley, Malverne; Gordon Fitting, Chatham and Larry Burud, Chatham (as a team). High School:  Regina Agrusa, Floral Park; Jay Altobello, Central Square 
Promising Character Initiative
- Manhattanville College School of Education’s        "Changing Suburbs Institute," Purchase, Westchester County; Anti-Bullying Committee, Round Hill ES, Washingtonville; Anti-Bullying Committee, East Greenbush (ES); Leadership Development Program, Winchester ES, West Seneca
Student Leader
-ShiAnne Vandenburgh, Cohoes (MS); Shauna Michael, Brittonkill (HS); Tara Madrid and Rebekah Linthicum, Catskill (HS) (as a team)
Other School Staff -  Deborah O'Mara, Central Square (HS)             
Parent Organization
-  Castleton Elementary School PTO


2011 New York State Schools of Character - Walnut Street School, Uniondale, N.Y., Chatham Middle School, Chatham, N.Y., Van Schaick  Grade School, Cohoes, N.Y.
Honorable Mention 
Wolcott Street School; Le Roy, N.Y.
Emerging Schools of Character
Turtle Hook Middle School; Uniondale, N.Y.; Commack Road Elementary School; Islip, N.Y.; Harrison Avenue Elementary School; South Glens Falls, N.Y.; Malta Avenue Elementary School; Ballston Spa, N.Y.; Midland Elementary School; Rye, N.Y.


Corporate Leadership Award
John Murray, Rose & Kiernan
Civic Leader Award Dale Thuillez, Chairman and President of the Tech Valley School Foundation
Community Organization Award Sue Spivack, A Community Committee on Respect and Diversity (ACCORD)

Reservations ($49 per person) may be mailed to: The Academy for Character Education, The Sage Colleges, 65 First Street, Troy, NY 12180. Checks should be made payable to: The Academy for Character Education. 

Learn more about this event and The Academy’s programs:

Or contact John Walko  at 518-244-2336