The Academy for Character Education at Sage announces 2014 “Champions of Character” Awards

March 21, 2014 at 1:26 pm

 Troy, N.Y.—The Academy for Character Education at The Sage Colleges, Troy, N.Y. is pleased to announce The 2014 “Champions of Character” Awards Banquet Awardees sponsored by The Academy for Character Education. 

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mel Horowitz, Catskill CSD (retired), Academy for Character Education Associate Director (retired), Current Volunteer

Volunteer Award: Maureen Flanigan, Averill Park CSD, Academy Leadership Board

Athletic and Civic: Bob Ford, University at Albany Football Coach (retired)  

School Administrator: Ken Facin – Superintendent, Hoosick Falls CSD

University Leader: Dr. Katherine Briar Lawson, Dean, School of Social Welfare, University at Albany  

Educational Advocates: Jesse A. Saperstein, author, motivational speaker, Anti-Bullying and autism advocate; Josephine Bila, beta thalassemia advocate

Character Education Literature: Michael Buchanan & Diane Lang, authors of The Fat Boy Chronicles

Student Organization: Family, Career & Community Leaders of America, Karen Thomas, NYS Coordinator  

Community Volunteer: Richard Muggeo, Catskill CSD (Retired)

Parent Leader: Thearse McCalmon, Schenectady  

Community Leadership in Education: Emma Willard For 200 Year Legacy of Educational Leadership

Student Awards: Sabrina Cravin, Troy CSD; Mikayla Kipp, Roscoe CSD; Sarah Cheney, North Colonie CSD

 Educators: Dianne Mosher, Berlin CSD; Dr. Britton Schnurr, Guilderland CSD; Janice Toomajian, Brittonkill CSD; Kelly Bullis, Roscoe CSD; Sarah Lovell, Hoosic Valley CSD

Business Leadership Award: Stewart’s Shops, President Gary Dake; Victory Reidy, Founder, Victory Child Care, Inc.

Community Leadership Award: Regional Food Bank of Northeastern New York, Mark Quandt, Executive Director; William Corbett, President of Capital Region Sponsor-A-Scholar Inc.

New York State School of Character: West Sand Lake Elementary, Averill Park CSD; Harrison Avenue School, South Glens Falls CSD; Canandaigua Middle School, Canandaigua CSD; Central Square School District; Smith Street School, Uniondale UFSD; Grand Avenue School, Uniondale UFSD

Honorable Mention NYSSOC: Lawrence Middle School, Lawrence UFSD; Number 4 School, Lawrence UFSD; Mildred E. Strang Middle School, Yorktown Heights CSD; Lawrence Road Middle School, Uniondale UFSD; Byron-Bergen School District         

NYS Emerging Schools of Character: Valley Stream J.H.S., Valley Stream CHSD; Jonas E. Salk Middle School, Levittown CSD; Voorheesville Elementary School, Voorheesville CSD

The Sage Colleges Champions of Character: Administrator Jill Grebert; Faculty Dr. Laurae (Herbi) Coburn; Staff Joanne (Jody) Diedrich; Students Grace Koehler (RSC), Megan Lugo (SCA)

Formal announcements and presentations will be made during The Academy for Character Education’s Champions of Character Award Banquet on April 9, 2014.  For further information about this formal announcement and school recognition, please contact The Academy for Character Education at The Sage Colleges.

Contact: Dr. Philip Fusco, Program Coordinator, Telephone:  518-244-2337, E-mail: