Current Exhibition

Mike Glier, A 35-Year Survey

October 21, 2014 - February 8, 2015

Garden Court Mike Glier

The Opalka Gallery on the Sage College of Albany campus is pleased to present “Meander, because you can’t see much while marching / Mike Glier, A 35-Year Survey.”  The first retrospective of Mike Glier’s art, the exhibition will feature works spanning his long, wide-ranging career.  The exhibition runs from October 21, 2014 to February 8, 2015, and will include an artist’s lecture, on Friday, October 24, at 7 p.m., as well as a reception on November 7, from 6 to 8 p.m. The exhibition, lecture, and reception are free and open to the public. 

From his early work on issues of masculinity to his landscape projects of the past decade, Glier has forged a distinctive and individual path, merging thoughtful investigations of politics and culture with expert craftsmanship and a love of beauty.

Born in Kentucky in 1953, Glier received his BA from Williams College in 1976. He attended the Whitney Museum Independent Study Program and earned an MA in Studio Art from Hunter College in 1979. He was an active member of Collaborative Projects (Colab) from 1979 to 1985, and was involved with Printed Matter, Inc. (as staff and later board member) from 1979 until 1989.  In 1996, he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in painting; his 2004 installation Town Green (Cambridge, MA) was selected by Americans for the Arts as one of the best public artworks of the year. He has been a professor of art at Williams College since 1988. Although “Meander” will be Glier’s first retrospective, his work has inspired solo exhibitions of drawing and painting throughout his career, at such prestigious venues as the Santa Monica Museum of Art, The Drawing Center, Hallwalls Contemporary Arts Center, MASS MoCA, San Jose Museum of Art, Wexner Center for the Arts, and the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts.

Glier typically works in series that explore issues of pressing personal and political interest to him, and the Opalka’s retrospective will present works from all of these series—from White Male Power of the early 1980s to today’s Antipodes. It will also include important individual pieces, as well as some never-before-shown works.

Artist’s Talk:
Friday, October 24, 7 pm

November 7, 6-8pm

A generously illustrated 132 page catalogue accompanies the exhibition, with essays by Lucy R. Lippard, Thomas Crow, and David Breslin, and an interview with the artist by Opalka director Elizabeth Greenberg.
» Purchase Catalog