Residence Life

Welcome to Residence Life at Sage College of Albany

For some people, living in the residence hall is what college is all about. Sage College of Albany's on-campus residence hall provides living and learning space for about 100 first-year students in good academic standing.

Sage believes that residence halls should be active living/learning centers that compliment the academic programs of the College. Students can participate in a variety of social and educational programs, such as cultural dinners, aromatherapy workshops, fitness workshops, off-campus trips, and Halloween parties for area youth.

Living successfully in residence halls is dependent upon balancing individual freedoms with sensitivity and respect for the rights of others. A willingness to discuss, negotiate, and compromise is essential. Individual and cultural differences make up the unique texture of the residence halls, and students are encouraged to learn from one another. 


Important Dates for Fall 2016

Thursday, August 25: New Troy residents move in

Friday, August 26: Returning Albany residents arrive (starting at 9:00 AM)

Monday, August 29: Classes begin

Friday, September 2: Deadline for meal plan changes

Monday, September 5: College closed (Labor Day)

Monday, October 10: College closed (Columbus Day)

Tuesday, October 11: Offices open, but no classes

Wednesday, November 23: Halls close at 11:00 AM for Thanksgiving Break

Sunday, November 27: Halls reopen at 12:00 (noon)

Friday, December 9: Last day of classes

Monday, December 12: Reading Day

December 13-16: Final exams

Saturday, December 17: Halls close at 11:00 AM (Residents must leave no later than 11:00 AM,or by 24 hours after their last final, whichever comes first.)

Important Dates for Spring 2017

Sunday, January 15: Residents arrive

Monday, January 16: College closed (MLK, Jr. Day)

Tuesday, January 17: Classes begin

Friday, January 20: Deadline for meal plan changes

Saturday, March 4: Halls close at 11:00 AM for Spring Break

Sunday, March 12: Halls reopen at 12 noon

Friday, April 28: Last day of classes

Monday, May 1: Reading Day

May 2-5: Final exams

Saturday, May 6: Halls close at 11:00 AM (Residents must leave no later than 11:00 AM, or by 24 hours after their last final, whichever comes first.)

Saturday, May 13: TSC Commencement

Sunday, May 14: Halls close at 11:00 AM for those who participated in Commencement activities

As indicated on The Sage Colleges’ Residence Contract, the “contract does not include on campus housing during the vacation periods when the residence halls are officially closed (i.e. Thanksgiving, Winter Break, and Spring Break).  Therefore, students are not allowed to stay on campus during those vacation periods, and are expected to make arrangements for those break periods. If prior written permission from the Residence Life staff has been granted to students to stay on campus during these breaks, the students may be assigned to a residence hall other than their own during the vacation period. In addition, room fees may be applied to the students’ bill.”  

 

Living at University Heights College Suites

After their first year, students may prefer to live in rental properties in the surrounding neighborhoods or at University Heights College Suites, a student housing complex only a short walk from campus. College Suites offers Sage students apartment-style living with new, fully furnished 4-bedroom units. If you are interested in living at College Suites, please contact the Office of Residence Life for information; our office works directly with the management of College Suites for you (and you do not have to pay a deposit!). Students who choose to live in College Suites are always welcome to attend any programs and events on the Sage campus and in the Albany Campus Residence Hall. Although the apartments at College Suites come with full kitchens, residents are also welcome to choose meal plans on campus.

For those students living off-campus, Sage makes commuting easy. We provide plenty of parking, on-campus dining options, and a comfortable commuter lounge.