State Authorizations

UPDATE: As of 7/2015, the New York State Department of Education approved legislation for the state to join the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA). Soon, Sage will be a participating SARA school, making much of the prior state authorizations obsolete. SARA agreements only apply to those states that have joined SARA.

If a degree program is 100% online (i.e. no offices, classrooms, or employees are located in the state and the institution is not incorporated in the state) then licensure is either not required, or a simple explanation of the degree programs is required. However, it must be determined if each of the degree programs offered has one or more of the following, as required by the curriculum:

- A student teaching component,
- A practicum or clinical,
- An internship/externship, or
- A field experience.

If the answer is "yes" to one or more of the above categories, more than likely, a physical presence has been triggered and licensure would be required. The hiring of adjunct online faculty does not constitute a physical presence.

Additionally, criteria are the same for each of the field experiences listed above. In order to determine if a physical presence has been established, we must evaluate the field experience (regardless of its name/title) to see if it contains one or more of the following criteria:

- Is the field experience required by the curriculum?
- Is course credit granted at the completion of the course?
- Is there significant interaction with the general public by the student?

If the answer is "yes" to one or more of the above questions, a physical presence has been triggered and licensure is required in most cases.

Sage Point of Contact

Dr. Albert Orbinati
Dean, School of Professional and Continuing Education
(518) 292-1774
[email protected]

A full list of currently approved and unapproved states is located here (pre-SARA). Please pay close attention to those programs that do and do not have practicum/clinical requirements as often times authorizations differ.