The Academy's "Champions of Character" Awards


"Champions of Character" Awards Banquet, Tuesday, April 10, 2013

The 2013 awards recipients will be announced in January.

Each year the Academy presents awards to exemplary leaders in Character Education. Award categories include:

The deadline for receipt of Business and Community nominations is November 27, 2012

  • Community/Civic Leader and Community/Civic Organization
  • Business Organization and Business Leader

Click here for nomination form

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the following Education Awards is November 27, 2012

  • Parent Leader and Parent Organization
  • Teacher Leader
  • School Administrator
  • Exemplary Schools/School Districts*
  • Student Leader and Student Organization
  • The Sage Colleges Student and Sage Colleges Faculty/Staff Leaders

Click here for nomination form.

The 10th Annual Champions of Character Awards Banquet will be held at the Franklin Plaza, 4th and Grand Streets, in Troy, NY on Tuesday, April 10, 2013. At this gala event Character Education Leadership throughout New York State is celebrated.

We are proud to announce the 2012 Champions of Character Award Winners!

Volunteer Award

Bonnie Misch, Central Square CSD, retired; Academy Leadership Board Co-Secretary

Sage College Award Winners

Administrators Robert Grebert and Lori Maki; Faculty Member Deborah Lawrence; Students Sharon Domine, Joshua Hewitt and Jane Spear; Staff Member Carolyn Van De Mark

Business Leader Award

E. Stewart Jones, Jr.,  Esquire, Attorney & Civic Benefactor

Business Organization Award

KeyBank, NA

Civic Leader Award

Tina Marie Smith, Griswold Heights Tenant Volunteer and Leader

Civic Organization Award

Literacy Volunteers of Rensselaer County

Student Leadership

Sarah Risko, New Lebanon Jr-Sr. High School

Student Organization

Mike Feurstein- Director, How to Unmake a Bully, Glendaal ES, Scotia Glenville CSD

Community Organization

Pride Center of the Capital Region- Nora Yates, Executive Director

Teacher/Educator Leadership

Jeanine Zaccara, One World Club, Edison School, Port Chester CSD

Joanne Hyde, K-6 School Counselor, Wolcott St. School, LeRoy CSD

Patrick Morris, Greenwich Jr-Sr HS Counselor, Greenwich CSD

Sean Peterson, 11-12th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Wallkill Sr. HS, Wallkill CSD

Heather Larkin, Assistant Professor, University at Albany

University Organization

NYS American Association of University Women, Eileen Hartmann, President

Community Volunteer

Aaron Johnson, Cohoes Community Center/Van Schiack Grade School

School Administrator Leadership

Joe Palmer, Principal, Harrison Ave ES, So. Glens Falls CSD          
Michael Effie, Principal, Cleveland ES, Central Square CSD

New York State Schools of Character

Wolcott Street ES; LeRoy CSD

Allen Creek ES; Pittsford CSD

California Avenue ES; UniondaleCSD

Honorable Mention New York State Schools of Character

Cleveland Elementary; Central SquareCSD

Malta Avenue ES; Ballston Spa CSD

Emerging Schools of Character

Harrison Ave ES; S. Glens Falls CSD

Spring UFSD

Central Square, CSD

Smith Street ES; Uniondale CSD

Grand Avenue ES; Uniondale CSD

Lawrence Road M.S.; Uniondale CSD

Turtle Hook M.S.; Uniondale CSD

Dundee Elementary; Dundee CSD

Northern Pkwy ES; Uniondale CSD

Number 4 School ES; Lawrence CSD

Click here for a listing of the Banquet Raffle Baskets,
generously donated by The Academy's supporters!