Jill Bierman, assistant registrar, with President Christopher Ames after receiving the 2023 President’s Community Award at the May 18 Employee Recognition Luncheon.

On May 18, Russell Sage College celebrated its employees at the Employee Recognition Luncheon, held in the Armory at the Albany campus. Below are the employees receiving special recognition or celebrating milestones with the College.

Distinguished Service Awards

Each year, Russell Sage College recognizes employees who have shown distinguished service within the Sage community. Recipients are nominated and selected by a committee of their peers.

Individuals may be nominated in recognition of performance excellence, commitment, and initiative, demonstrating outstanding service to Sage. Award recipients are selected from the nominees in the following categories: Faculty, administrator, and staff. Each recipient was presented with a framed certificate and will receive a monetary award.


Jody Diedrich, director of conferences and events

Karen Balter, associate professor and chair of the biology and health sciences program

Erica Carlo, director of Management Information Systems and project manager

President’s Community Award

The President’s Community Award is presented to an employee in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Russell Sage community. The recipient of this award displays extraordinary generosity, gives their time and abilities beyond general job requirements, and makes a difference in the workplace. They have a positive attitude, act as an ambassador for the College, and exhibit high levels of energy and commitment to their department and to Sage. The recipient was presented with a plaque and will receive a monetary award.

Recipient: Jill Bierman, assistant registrar


Mark Ahola, instructor of creative and performing arts, 20 years

Sandy Augstein-Collins, head coach for women’s volleyball, 12 Years

Janice Bonaccorso, laboratory manager, 25 years

Margot Elacqua, OTD, MBA, OTR/L, associate professor of occupational therapy, 21 years

Rose Grignon, chief of staff and executive assistant to the president, 45 years

Heather Hamelin, production manager and theatre education coordinator, 11 years

Steven Leibo, Ph.D., Sherman David Spector Professor in Humanities, 39 years

Lynne Roblin, costume designer, 11 years

Josefina Roldan, assistant professor of nursing, nine and a half years

Manijeh Sabi, Ph.D., professor of economics, 35 years

Tim Stephenson, administrative assistant in graduate nursing, eight years

David Wooster, multi-craft trades technician, 23 years

Years of Service Awards

40 Years

Eileen Brownell, associate professor of management

Carol DiMambro, associate professor of interdisciplinary studies

35 Years

Manijeh Sabi, professor of economics

30 Years

Julie McIntyre, associate professor of psychology

25 Years

Deyette Koyon, assistant director of human resources

Matthew McElligott, professor of graphic and media design

20 Years

Mark Ahola, instructor of creative and performing arts

15 Years

Daniel Alemu, professor of educational leadership

Brian Barnes, assistant athletic director and men’s basketball coach

Teresa Cancela, housekeeper

Kimberly Fredericks, assistant provost for grants and community relations

Tamara Hansen, photographer and communications assistant

Ekaterina Kagan, professor of Spanish

Kathleen Kelly, dean of the School of Health Sciences

Gayle Morse, professor of psychology

Timothy Noonan, director of academic budget and planning

Karen Reynolds, housekeeper

10 Years

Jeanette Alejandro, mail and document coordinator

Kelly Brock, assistant professor of education

Tracey Continelli, associate professor of nursing

Cheryl Davis, assistant professor of Applied Behavior Analysis

Marcy Fiet, assistant professor of nursing

Heather Hamelin, production manager and theatre education coordinator (11 years)

Dayna Maniccia, associate professor, public health

Cheryl Ostryn, associate professor of Applied Behavior Analysis

Josefina Roldan, assistant professor of nursing

Sara Schuman, general education core coordinator

Rupali Singh, associate professor of physical therapy

Julie Verette Lindenbaum, assistant professor of psychology

Janice White, associate professor of educational leadership

5 Years

Zaheer Ahmad, network administrator

Erin Dolen, assistant professor of nursing

Jessica Houbre, salesforce analyst and administrator

Trudy Hutchinson, assistant professor of nursing

Gabrielle Maisonet, senior associate director of undergraduate enrollment management

Rebecca Palmer, student success advisor

John Tine, assistant professor of biology and health sciences

Maryjo Valentine, associate vice president for finance

Recent News