Russell Sage College Orientation 2016

Live on Campus!

Residence halls are more than just places to live! Sage believes that residence halls should be active living/learning centers that compliment the academic programs of the College. Sage is committed to the values and benefits of residential living in the college experience. Both the individual student and school community are enriched by the growth and development that emerge from this distinctive aspect of the Sage environment.

The undergraduate residence policy supports the Residence Life philosophy. Both provide for a living situation that complements the educational task of the College and encourages positive approaches to community responsibility and personal relations.

For some people, dorm life (we prefer to call it residence hall living) is what college is all about. Students can participate in fun, valuable programs: such as cultural dinners, aromatherapy workshops, and Halloween parties for area youth.

Housing at Russell Sage College

The college residence policy requires that full-time students who do not live with parents or spouses live in campus residence halls. Exceptions to this policy (based on age, finances or family circumstances) are considered on an individual basis and must be approved in writing by the Dean of Students or his designee.

Part-time students (i.e. students carrying fewer than 12 credits each semester and less than a total of 24 credits for the year) also have the option of living on campus. If you are a part-time student interested in living on campus, please submit a written request to the Director of Residence Life.

Housing at Sage College of Albany

Sage College of Albany’s on-campus, coed residence hall provides living and learning space for about 100 first-year students in good academic standing.  First year students are required to reside on the Albany campus in the Albany Campus Residence Hall (ACRH). Their room assignments are made by the Residence Life staff.

Returning students have the option to live on campus in the University Heights Association College Suites, or to live off campus as a commuter. Each year, The Sage Colleges reserves a block of College Suite apartments specifically for Sage students. Applications will be available from the Office of Residence Life in the Albany Campus Residence Hall or from the Office of Student Life in the Kahl Campus Center.


Important Dates for Fall 2016

Thursday, August 25: NEW FIRST YEAR residents move in (starting at 8:30 AM for Troy and ACRH residents)

Friday, August 26: RETURNING UHCS residents move in (starting at 9:00 AM)

Saturday, August 27: RETURNING Troy residents move in (starting at 9:00 AM) & NEW TRANSFER residents move in (starting at 9 AM for Troy and UHCS)

Monday, August 29: Classes begin

Friday, September 2: Deadline for meal plan changes

Monday, September 5: College closed (Labor Day)

Monday, October 10: College closed (Columbus Day)

Tuesday, October 11: Offices open, but no classes

Wednesday, November 23: Halls close at 11:00 AM for Thanksgiving Break

Sunday, November 27: Halls reopen at 12:00 PM (noon)

Friday, December 9: Last day of classes

Monday, December 12: Reading Day

December 13-16: Final exams

Saturday, December 17: Halls close at 11:00 AM (Residents must leave no later than 11:00 AM, or by 24 hours after their last final, whichever comes first)

Important Dates for Spring 2017

Sunday, January 15: Residents arrive

Monday, January 16: College closed (MLK, Jr. Day)

Tuesday, January 17: Classes begin

Friday, January 20: Deadline for meal plan changes

Saturday, March 4: Halls close at 11:00 AM for Spring Break

Sunday, March 12: Halls reopen at 12:00 PM (noon)

Friday, April 28: Last day of classes

Monday, May 1: Reading Day

May 2-5: Final exams

Saturday, May 6: Halls close at 11:00 AM (Residents must leave no later than 11:00 AM, or by 24 hours after their last final, whichever comes first)

Saturday, May 13: TSC Commencement

Sunday, May 14: Halls close at 11:00 AM for those who participated in Commencement activities

As indicated on The Sage Colleges’ Residence Contract, the “contract does not include on campus housing during the vacation periods when the residence halls are officially closed (i.e. Thanksgiving, Winter Break, and Spring Break).  Therefore, students are not allowed to stay on campus during those vacation periods, and are expected to make arrangements for those break periods. If prior written permission from the Residence Life staff has been granted to students to stay on campus during these breaks, the students may be assigned to a residence hall other than their own during the vacation period. In addition, room fees may be applied to the students’ bill.”