There are many exciting Undergraduate Fellowship Opportunities at Russell Sage College!

Broughton Fellowship FundFocus: Research, Senior Thesis, or Capstone Project
Eligibility: Graduate students and senior level undergraduates
Contact: Dean of Health Sciences
Established in 1980 by William G. Broughton in honor of his father and mother, Henry Primm Broughton and Jane Tinkham Broughton.  These Fellowships intend to create opportunities for advanced, scholarly work for two kinds of students: (1) graduate students preparing a thesis for a master’s degree or a doctorate or (2) undergraduates who, during the senior year, require financial support for travel, field study, or laboratory expenses for a baccalaureate thesis or senior project. Recipients must present their research findings in a public lecture or symposium. 
Chuk-Yin Lam-Erwin FundFocus: Chemistry
Eligibility: All undergraduates
Contact: Dr. Emilly Obuya  
Established in 1996 in memory of faculty member Chuk-Yin Lam-Erwin by her husband, Robert Erwin, fellow faculty members and friends.  The Funds may be used by chemistry students to pay expenses for presenting a paper at a regional or national science meeting, or to fund any miscellaneous student activity, which goes above or beyond normal coursework.
Cynthia Crocco Spector ’74 and Dr. Sherman David Spector Fellowship FundFocus: History, Political Science, International Studies (including languages)
Eligibility: Sophomore, Junior, Senior Women-identifying students encouraged to apply Contact: Dr. Kate Kagan
Established by Cynthia Crocco Spector, ’74 in her and her late husband’s name.  Dr. Spector was a beloved professor at Sage who felt travel and research opened up unknown worlds to students.  This fellowship is awarded to sophomore, junior or senior students enrolled in history, political science, or international studies for experiences that are broadly enriching and can support travel, learning, study, or research.  Should no one apply from those majors, women-identifying students from any major will be considered.   
Doris Adams Ferguson ’53 Memorial Fund for Sociology      Focus: Sociology or Criminal Justice
Eligibility: Junior, Senior Contact: Dr. Michelle Napierski-Prancl  
Established in 2003 by James T. Ferguson, Sr., to honor his late wife’s memory. This Fellowship is given to at least one student annually in sociology or criminal justice.  It provides funds during the junior or senior year for travel, field study, baccalaureate thesis, senior project, internship or creative, advanced study, fieldwork or research.  Students are required to present their research publicly and through a written report that may be published.  
Guy Torre Travel AwardFocus: Nutrition
Eligibility: Sophomore, Junior, Senior
Contact: Professor Kameron Rowe
Established in 2005 by Carmela (Millie) Estes to give nutrition majors the opportunity to broaden their educational experiences by traveling abroad through Sage sanctioned travel programs. Recipients must be enrolled in a nutrition program, be a sophomore, junior or senior, and be in good standing. 
Katherine Johnson Memorial Travel FundFocus: Travel & study, US and international
Eligibility: All undergraduate and graduate students
Contact: Study Abroad Program, Undergraduate Dean’s Office
Established in 2007 through a bequest by Katherine Disbrow Johnson RSC 1929 who wanted to make possible travel and study outside the limits of the United States for students, both graduate and undergraduate, who would not otherwise be able to afford such travel and study. 
Nancy Parker Neumann Memorial Scholarship FundFocus: Anyone studying migration or social justice
Eligibility: All undergraduates
Sponsor: Dr. Michelle Napierski-Prancl
Established in 2005 in Nancy’s memory by her family and friends for students who attend the Border Witness Program through the New York State Labor Coalition or a similar program.  
Scrimshaw Stern Student Travel FundFocus: National or International Travel for Study, Research, or Service
Eligibility: All undergraduates
Contact: Study Abroad Program, Undergraduate Dean’s Office
Established in honor of the inauguration of Russell Sage College’s ninth president, Susan C. Scrimshaw, Ph.D., for students to present at national or international conferences or when traveling to do research or service either domestically or internationally.
Student Government Foreign Study FundFocus: National or International Travel for Study, Research, or Service
Eligibility: All undergraduates
Contact: Study Abroad Program, Undergraduate Dean’s Office
Established in 1971 by the student government for students who study abroad.   
Women’s Institute FellowshipFocus:

Have Questions?

Undergraduate Dean and Dean of School of Arts & Sciences
Administrative Coordinator and Assistant to the Dean of RSC