Donald E. Willets Award
Endowed in 1987 by faculty member Donald Willetts, this award recognizes students from the School of Education showing promise in the field of secondary school teaching. The recipient of the award is Mariah Cochran-Caggiano.
Childhood Education Award
The outstanding student award in Childhood Education is given each year to the candidate who demonstrates both excellence in content knowledge and strong 21st Century teaching skills and expertise in the field of education at the elementary level. In addition, this award acknowledges a candidate who believes that ALL children can learn when given equal access to learning opportunities. We are pleased to announce that Elizabeth Hanna is the recipient.
Excellence in Literacy Education Award
The Excellence in Literacy Education Award recognizes superior academic strengths, an exceptional command of the professional literature that informs teaching, and exemplary literacy teaching skills of at-risk elementary, middle or high school students. The recipient of Excellence in Literacy Education Award shows distinctive promise as a literacy coach and as a potential contributor to the field of literacy teaching. Rebecca Cook has distinguished herself as a literacy educator, coach and collaborator and is the recipient of the 2021 Excellence in Literacy Education Award.

Special Education Award 
The excellence in Special Education Award recognizes and rewards a graduate student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and exemplary skills in working with educators, students with disabilities, and families of children with disabilities. The recipient of this award exhibits characteristics of a budding educator who will be an agent of change in the field of special education.

This year there are two recipients of this award. The 2021 Special Education Award is given to Grace Goliber and Jacqueline Merchant, both of whom have distinguished themselves as teachers of students with disabilities and collaborators with others to benefit learners.
Professional School Counseling
To be a highly effective professional school counselor today requires skills in the areas of counseling, consulting, collaborating, advocating and leading. Possessing these skills along with empathy, genuineness and sincerity helps to enable the school counselor to make a positive difference in the lives of students. The student award for excellence in Professional School Counseling is presented to the candidate that has demonstrated these qualities throughout his/her Master’s Degree program. The recipient of the award is Jenna Libecci.
School Health Education 
The School Health Education Award is presented to a graduate student who has excelled academically and engaged in activities and projects that promote health and healthy behaviors. This student has demonstrated a commitment to his or her own personal health status. As a professional health educator, the student served as a role model and resource person to peers in Sage community and beyond. The recipient of the award is Jacob Hardy.
Applied Behavior Analysis and Autism
The Center for Applied Behavioral Analysis and Autism Student of the Year Award is conferred by the CABA faculty upon a graduating student who demonstrates outstanding performance in meeting the academic requirements of the Master of Science program in ABA and Autism. The recipient exemplifies a sound work ethic, is a model student for peers, and shows integrity and respect in adhering to the BACB Guidelines for Responsible Conduct for Behavior Analysts. The CABA Student of the Year shows great promise for upholding these virtues in commencing a career in applied behavior analysis. The recipient of the award is Michaela Newton.

Doctorate in Educational Leadership (Albany & NYC)
The Outstanding Student Award in the Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership Program is awarded annually. The faculty of the department selects a student based upon the following criteria:

• High-quality academic record 
• Leader in the cohort 
• Role model for collaboration 
• On schedule to complete research and the program 

The recipients of this award are Giovanni Virgiglio for the Albany cohort and for the NYC cohort, Josephine Yeboah Van-Ess